TRIBUTE TO EADWEARD MUYBRIDGE | BOB KOHN
(FRANCE)

March 15 > 31 | VIDEO INSTALLATION
CHAPELLE DE L’HÔPITAL GENERAL | Rue Sainte-Rose
Opening: from Tuesday to Saturday 11AM > 7PM | Sunday 2PM > 6PM


Free access

Tribute to Eadweard Muybridge

After the controversy around the pictorial representations of the galloping horse - are the four hooves off the ground at the same time at a given moment? - Eadweard Muybridge developed an incredible photographic system for the time. While the best operators still needed at least 15 seconds between each shot, this system allowed a succession of ultra-fast shots and therefore a decomposition of the movement such as no human eye had never seen it.

Closely combining science and art - so much so that it was debated at the end of the nineteenth century - the images of Eadweard Muybridge impress today by their great beauty and what they foreshadow: the cinema, from the Greek κίνημα / kínēma, which means movement as everyone knows.

Ado Kyrou says in substance in Le Surréalisme au cinéma that the duty and virtue of cinema are to show men what they have never seen before.

By deconstructing the movement, Eadweard Muybridge, this great precursor - who some called "disturbed", or in other words, a victim of a spirit in perpetual motion - recomposed the movement of life and time and first gave it to the world to see.

We cannot better deal with the history of the cinematograph than by revisiting - among tributes, reconstruction, recurrence and fragmentation - the visions of this great pioneer that was Eadweard Muybridge, through the unforgettable images that the magic lantern has given us since.

Chamber music N°3 2’54’’ (Je, tu, il, elle de Chantal Akerman)
Chamber music N°1 4’48’’ (séquences amoureuses)
Kinok 3’22’’ (Dziga Vertov & S. M. Eisenstein)

Bob Kohn

Bob Kohn comes from the communication field (Art director). In 2010, he started working on a video creation project. He wrote and produced a 10 minute long short movie named “Les jalouses” and also co-produced the Nib'Art exhibition with Marine-Bureau Kohn. His movie “Requiem for 2 people” was selected in 2015 for the “Best of – écritures et formes émergentes” (Best of – writing and emerging forms) held by the SCAM. He won the VIDEOFORMES award with François Gaulon for their video “Projection” in 2017.

www.bob-fictions.org

Facebook
Twitter
INSTAGRAM

TRIBUTE TO EADWEARD MUYBRIDGE | BOB KOHN
(FRANCE)

15 > 31 mars | INSTALLATION VIDEO
CHAPELLE DE L’HÔPITAL GENERAL | Rue Sainte-Rose
Ouverture : du mardi au samedi 11h > 19h | Le dimanche 14h > 18h

Entrée libre

Tribute to Eadweard Muybridge

C’est suite à une polémique autour des représentations picturales de l’époque du cheval au galop – les quatre sabots sont-ils ou non en suspension en même temps à un moment donné ? – qu’ Eadweard Muybridge met au point un dispositif photographique insensé pour l’époque. Celui-ci, et alors même que les meilleurs opérateurs ont besoin encore d’au minimum 15 secondes de temps de pause par cliché, lui permet une succession de prises de vue ultra-rapide et donc une décomposition du mouvement telle qu’aucun œil humain ne l’avait jamais observée.

Mêlant intimement science et art – à tel point que cela fit débat à la fin du XIXème siècle – les images d’Eadweard Muybridge frappent aujourd’hui par leur grande beauté et ce qu’elles préfigurent avec quelques années d’avance : le cinéma, du grec κίνημα / kínēma, qui signifie mouvement comme chacun sait.


Ado Kyrou dit en substance dans Le Surréalisme au cinéma que le devoir et la vertu de ce dernier sont de montrer aux hommes ce qu’ils n’ont encore jamais vu.

En décomposant le mouvement, Eadweard Muybridge, ce grand précurseur « dérangé » disait-on de lui – autrement dit victime d’un esprit en perpétuel mouvement -  a recomposé celui de la vie et du temps et l’a le premier donné à voir au monde.

On ne saurait mieux composer avec l’histoire du cinématographe qu’en revisitant, entre hommage, reconstruction, récurrence et fragmentation, les visions de ce grand pionnier que fut Eadweard Muybridge, à travers les images inoubliables que la lanterne magique nous a données depuis.

Chamber music N°3 2’54’’ (Je, tu, il, elle de Chantal Akerman)
Chamber music N°1 4’48’’ (séquences amoureuses)
Kinok 3’22’’ (Dziga Vertov & S. M. Eisenstein)

Bob Kohn

Bob Kohn vient du monde de la communication (Art director) et commence, en 2010, un travail de création vidéo. Il écrit et réalise alors le pilote d’un court-métrage de 10 min - « Les jalouses » - et coréalise, avec Marine-Bureau Kohn, l’exposition Nib’Art. En 2015, « Requiem for 2 people » est sélectionnée dans le « Best of - écritures et formes émergentes » de la SCAM. En 2017, il obtient le Prix VIDEOFORMES, en compagnie de François Gaulon, pour la vidéo « Projection ».

www.bob-fictions.org