ADAF | FESTIVAL INTERNATION D'ART DIGITAL D'ATHÈNES
(GRÈCE)

Saturday, March 17 | 2 PM
Espace municipal Georges-Conchon • Rue Léo-Lagrange

Free access

ADAF

Athens Digital Arts Festival (ADAF) is an International Festival which celebrates digital culture through an annual gathering bringing together a global community of artists and audiences. ADAF aims to encourage, stimulate and promote all aspects of digital creativity by hosting local as well as international artists and communities. Moreover, its goal is to raise awareness on contemporary digital culture, familiarize the wider audience with new media and art, and provide education through innovative workshops focusing on technology and digital arts. In each edition, it always tackles contemporary social and cultural issues related to technological advancements and innovation. Thus, its multidimensional programme offers a wide range of exhibitions, screenings, live performances, workshops and international tributes showcasing artworks that display distinctive characteristics of the digital medium and reflects on its language and aesthetics.

2017.adaf.gr/festival

Eirini Olympiou

Eirini Olympiou (b. 1987, Athens) has studied Fine Arts (BA, MA). As an individual artist, she has participated in solo and group exhibitions and in collaborative projects since 2008. Her artistic practice takes on many forms including painting, photography and mixed media. She has been a video art curator at the international festival of digital arts and new media Athens Digital Arts Festival since 2011, has done curatorial projects with international festivals, for individual exhibitions and also been a member of video art jury in festivals. She currently lives, works and studies architecture in Athens, Greece.

THE FILMS

ADAF2017 COMPILATION

“The future as seen from the past and the past as seen from the future”
Can you imagine the Future?

The elusive transition of digital culture is shaping a future ‘beyond digital’, where the physical and the digital are merging. In the late 90’s Negroponte stated that “the digital revolution is over”. Almost two decades later and having accepted that the digital culture has been stabilized into our everydayness, we are moving forward to a most abstract creation. The necessity of innovation and excess of limits has been a primary goal imposed by the ever evolving technological fetish.

This futuristic lifestyle is reflected from the coherence of the ‘real - virtual’ boundaries. The humanization of technology along with the social and economic crisis lead to a replica of the physical world where everything is countable in digits, therefore simplified and transparent. Yet is post digital the real progress?

This compilation is exploring this blurry future, and the artists ‘transcend’ digital culture and exchange opinions and thoughts under the theme #PostFuture and the categories #PostDigital, #PostEconomies, #PostHumanities, #PostNature.

Compilation curated by: Eirini Olympiou

APOTROPIA (IT) The Kiss (2016) | 01:20 min, colour, sound
A contact between two bodies. An intense sharing of information. A chemical cocktail in the brain.

Max Hattler (DE), Shapeshifter (2015) | 00:30 min, colour, sound
“Shapeshifter” explores video glitches induced by digital signal processing compression artefacts, which have given rise to a whole genre of YouTube videos dedicated to expose shapeshifting reptilians, hiding behind the surface of the video screen.

Alex Karantanas / Αλέξης Καραντάνας (GR), Singularity (2016-2017) | 07:13 min, colour, sound
The video follows the hypothesis of an inevitable emergence of artificial superintelligence. A new species of digital entities is being born, letting us observe the way they experience their cyber bodies, the social construction of time and the concept of absolute void.

Nicole Rayburn / (CA), Ya - why so negative? (2017) | 02:29min
all AI dialogue is original excerpted from unscripted exchanges between AI robots and interviewers a glimpse into when robots talk amongst themselves…

‘Ya – why so negative?’ is the first video in the ‘FutureNow’ series in which excerpts from interviews of AI robots are edited together, to imagine a future, situated in the now, in which AI, born out of both the human and the other, converse among themselves.

There is an unsettling tension between an awareness that the robots have been programmed to respond in a particular manner, and knowing they have also been instilled with the ability to learn, mimic, and retain from each new experience – as they interact and speak, we are literally watching them evolve. Observing the types of questions the interviewers are asking them, that are often requesting insight into decidedly human behaviors, such as relationships, and hearing them respond with references to having a soul, preferences, or feeling a particular emotion, as well as expressing both anxiety around and awareness of their development, makes their rapid evolution towards both a mimicry of humanness and one decidedly ‘other’, wildly disconcerting. It is futurenow.

Masahiro Tsutani (JP), Movements Arising from Different Relationships (2015) | 12:48 min
This is the second movie in the series, following on from the previous work, 'Between Regularity and Irregularity'. As with the previous movie, this work continues to focus on fluctuation in the timing of sounds, change in tone quality, movement of particles, and form.

In addition, this movie uses the different movements caused by different relationships between minute units such as structures and cells in mouse brains, as well as particles and lines in non-living matter.

Isabella Gresser (DE), Re viewers (2016) | 05:00 min
Being today, means "being-digitized". Will we only begin to exist when we have been replaced by a simulacrum of ourselfs?

The experimental video interweaves real footage and virtual reality elements. Documentary footage of people sitting at a river in Seoul mingle with the images and edited comments of two YouTube reviewers of a VR relaxation game that simulates a flight over an animated virtual River. In this work I'm interested in the relationship between imagination and immersion and the proximity of the salvation formulas of a VR industry to Far Eastern philosophy of emptiness.

Boris Labbé & Daniele Ghisi (FR/IT), Any Road (2016) | 10:04 min
"So long as I get SOMEWHERE, Alice added as an explanation".
(Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland).
Any Road derives from an audiovisual concert created by video artist Boris Labbé and composer Daniele Ghisi. The concert combined video, electronic music and analogue music produced by an orchestra.

XCEED (HK), RadianceScape (2014)
Since 2011, the 311 Earthquake in Fukushima once again woke up the world attention on the nightmare of the nuclear disaster. Until now, there is no workable solution for Japan to fix the leaking problem. The highly radiating wastewater is released to the Pacific Ocean, keeps contaminating the marine life, and results in damaging the whole food chain. Meanwhile, the Japan government keeps hiding the news and real situation of the radiation problem. RadianceScape is a data-visualizing sonic composition, which aims at visualising the radioactivity and raising out the awareness of the issue to the public. It based on the live radiation data from the Safecast.org, a global sensor network for collecting and sharing radiation measurements, to generate an audio-visual cityscape. It appears in a point-cloud mapping outlook in which the density of the radiation level is representing the visibility of the cityscape. The sequence of the images is grabbed from the Google Streetview API’s hidden depth map data. The sonic composition is based on the locative data to generate different tonal of drone ambience and noise. The graphical score consists of 2 separated parts. First part is illustrating the route of Hong Kong, where visualising the radiation level from Mongkok to Tsim Sha Tsui area. The second part is illustrating the route of Fukushima, where visualizing the radiation level from the Fukushima Prefecture to the nuclear power plant.

Maria Tsiroukidou (GR), Minecrafted Waste Land (2017) | 05:34 min
Minecraft is a "first person" videogame in which the player roams freely in a vast three- dimensional environment. The player "mines" the landscape in search of materials to create structures. During this effort, the surroundings alter. For the most part the world of Minecraft is constructed from brick-units of different "materials" which can be used by the player. "Minecrafted Waste Land" is attempting a comparison and correlation of a game review, by youtuber "Tai", a radio speech of Michel Foucault on the concept of heterotopia and a typed page from Richard Wright's "Native Son" with handwritten corrections by the author.

Ben Skea (GB), Future Exit Strategy (2017) | 08:00min
Future Exit Strategy is an episodic video sequence that uses moving image, sound and software to speculate on the future of human intelligence - specifically how a Type III civilisation might create an algorithmic blueprint for the transference of intelligent life from one universe to another. A group of people walk along a forest path - the reality of their journey rapidly synthesises into a series of 'polymorphic glyphs'. Sensory information is converted via a series of phase transitions over the surface of a virtual sculpture – a futuristic device that eventually launches encapsulated data into a microscopic wormhole. Future Exit Strategy is an optimistic and speculative play with the real world – a world we currently cannot escape.

Facebook
Twitter
INSTAGRAM

ADAF | FESTIVAL INTERNATION D'ART DIGITAL D'ATHÈNES
(GRÈCE)

Samedi 17 mars | 14h
Espace municipal Georges-Conchon • Rue Léo-Lagrange

Entrée libre

ADAF

Athens Digital Arts Festival (ADAF) est un festival international qui célèbre la culture numérique à travers un rassemblement annuel réunissant une communauté mondiale d'artistes et de publics.

L'ADAF vise à encourager, stimuler et promouvoir tous les aspects de la créativité numérique en accueillant des artistes locaux et internationaux. Son objectif est de sensibiliser à la culture numérique contemporaine, de familiariser le grand public avec les nouveaux médias et l'art, de fournir une éducation par le biais d'ateliers innovants axés sur la technologie et les arts numériques. À chaque édition, le festival aborde toujours les questions sociales et culturelles contemporaines liées aux progrès technologiques et à l'innovation. Son programme multidimensionnel offre un large éventail d'expositions, de projections, de performances, d'ateliers et d'hommages internationaux mettant en vedette des oeuvres présentant des caractéristiques distinctes du médium numérique et reflétant son langage et son esthétique.

2018.adaf.gr

Eirini Olympiou

Eirini Olympiou (née à Athènes en 1987) a étudié les Beaux Arts (baccalauréat ès arts, maîtrise ès arts). En tant qu'artiste, elle participe depuis 2008 à des expositions, individuelles ou collectives, et à des projets collaboratifs. Sa pratique artistique se présente sous de multiples formes comme la peinture, la photographie et l'utilisation de techniques mixtes. Depuis 2011, elle est également curatrice d’art vidéo au sein du Festival International Des Arts Digitaux et Des Nouveaux Médias, le Athens Digital Arts Festival. Elle a de plus participé à des projets en tant que commissaire d’exposition pour des festivals internationaux et des expositions individuelles. Elle a également été membre de jury d'art vidéo dans des festivals. Actuellement, Eirini Olympiou vit, travaille et étudie l'architecture à Athènes, Grèce.

LES FILMS

À PROPOS DE LA COMPILATION

« Le future vu du passé et le passé vu du futur »
Pouvez-vous imaginer le Futur?

L'insaisissable transformation de la culture digitale est en train de donner naissance à un futur « au delà du digital » dans lequel physique et digital ne font plus qu'un. « La révolution digitale est terminée » a dit Negroponte durant la fin des années 90. Presque deux décennies plus tard, ayant accepté la présence permanente de la culture digitale dans notre vie de tous les jours, nous nous dirigeons vers un type de création plus abstrait. La nécessité d'innover et l'excès de limites ont été les objectifs principaux imposés par ce fétiche technologique en évolution perpétuelle.

Ce mode de vie futuriste se voit reflété dans la cohérence des frontières entre le réel et le virtuel. L'humanisation de la technologie ainsi que les crises économiques et sociales ont mené à un virtuel répliquant le monde physique d'une manière simplifiée et transparente car tout s'y compte en chiffres. Cependant, le post digital représente t-il un réel progrès?

Cette compilation explore ce futur trouble grâce aux artistes qui y « transcendent » la culture digitale en échangeant leurs opinions et pensées sous le thème du #PostFuture et des catégories #PostDigital, #PostEconomies, #PostHumanities et #PostNature.

Compilation organisée par : Eirini Olympiou

The Kiss / APOTROPIA / Italie / 2016 / 1'20
Un contact entre deux corps. Un moment intense d'échange d'informations. Un cocktail chimique dans le cerveau.

Shapeshifter / Max Hattler / Allemagne / 2015 / 0'30
“Shapeshifter” s'intéresse aux glitchs vidéos résultant du traitement d'artefacts de compression par des signaux digitaux. Ces glitchs ont donnés naissance à un genre tout entier de vidéos YouTube dont le but est de démasquer des reptiliens, des êtres capables de se métamorphoser et qui se dissimulent sous la surface de moniteurs vidéo.

Singularity / Alex Karantanas (Αλέξης Καραντάνας) / Grèce / 2016-2017 / 7'13
Cette vidéo embrasse l'hypothèse de l'émergence inévitable des super-intelligences artificielles. On y observe une nouvelle espèce d'entités digitales en pleine naissance ainsi que la manière dont elles expérimentent leurs corps cybernétiques, perçoivent la construction sociale du temps ou abordent le concept de néant absolu.

Ya - why so negative? / Nicole Rayburn / Canada / 2017 / 2'29
Tout le dialogue d'IA est original et extrait des échanges improvisés entre robots IA et interviewers. Un aperçu de quand les robots parlent entre eux ...
Il s'agit de la première vidéo de la série FutureNow, série dans laquelle sont édités des extraits d'interviews d'intelligences artificielles robotiques dans le but d'imaginer un futur, qui se déroulerait dans l'instant présent. Dans ce futur, ces IA, nées à la fois de l'homme et de « l'autre », seraient capables de parler entre elles.
Il existe une certaine tension, une certaine inquiétude à voir ces robots – que l'on sait être programmés pour répondre d'une manière particulière mais dont on sait également qu'ils ont été instillés avec la faculté d'apprendre, d'imiter et de conserver chaque nouvelle expérience – interagir et parler. Les voir répondre à des questions basées sur des comportements typiquement humains, en parlant d'âme, de préférence ou bien en évoquant des sentiments particuliers rend déconcertante leur évolution qui semble, d'un coté, se diriger vers une certaine imitation de l'humanité, et de l'autre vers « quelque chose d'autre ».

Movements Arising from Different Relationships / Masahiro Tsutani / Japon / 2015 / 12'48
Ce film poursuit le travail effectué dans Between Regularity and Irregularity. Tout comme le film précédent, cette œuvre se concentre sur la fluctuation dans la synchronisation du son, sur le changement de qualité tonale, sur le mouvement des particules et sur la forme.

Le film fait également usage des différents mouvements qui découlent des multiples relations entre les unités minuscules. Sont utilisés comme exemple les structures et cellules présentes dans le cerveau des souris ainsi que les particules et lignes trouvables dans la matière non vivante.

Re viewers / Isabella Gresser / Allemagne / 2016 / 5'
Être aujourd'hui, c'est « être numérisé ». Débuterons nous notre existence seulement après avoir été remplacés par des simulacres de nous même?
Cette vidéo expérimentale entrelace des séquences vidéos réelles avec des éléments de réalité virtuelle. Des séquences documentaires présentant des personnes assises au bord d'une rivière à Seoul se mêlent aux images et commentaires édités de deux critiques youtubers, ces derniers faisant l'expérience d'un jeu de relaxation en réalité virtuelle simulant un vol au dessus d'une rivière virtuelle en animation. Dans cette œuvre l'artiste s'interroge sur la relation entre l'imagination et l'immersion ainsi que sur les similitudes présentes entre l'industrie de la réalité virtuelle et la philosophie du vide de l'extrême orient.

Any Road / Boris Labbé & Daniele Ghisi / France - Italie / 2016 / 10'04
« Pourvu que j’arrive quelque part, ajouta Alice en guise d’explication » (Lewis Carroll, Alice au Pays des Merveilles).
Any Road découle d'un concert audiovisuel créé par l'artiste vidéaste Boris Labbé et le compositeur Daniele Ghisi. Le concert combine vidéo avec musique électronique et analogue réalisée par un orchestre.

RadianceScape / XCEED / Hong-Kong / 2014-2015 / 2'
Le monde porte de nouveau son attention sur le cauchemar que représentent les désastres nucléaires depuis le tremblement de terre de Fukushima en 2011. Aucune solution n'a été trouvée au problème de l'eau radioactive s'échappant dans l'océan Pacifique tout en y contaminant la vie maritime. Le gouvernement japonais, de son coté, cherche à dissimuler la situation. RadianceScape est une composition sonore de visionnage de données, elle cherche à représenter la radioactivité et à sensibiliser le public. Les données utilisées proviennent de Safecast.org et sont utilisées pour créer des paysages urbains dans lesquels la densité des radiations est représentée par la visibilité des paysages. L'œuvre est divisée en deux parties dans lesquelles on peut observer les niveaux de radioactivité, dans la première partie nous suivons la route de Mongkok jusqu'à la zone de Tsim Sha Tsui, à Hong Kong, et dans la deuxième nous parcourons la route de la préfecture de Fukushima jusqu'à la centrale nucléaire.

Minecrafted Waste Land / Maria Tsiroukidou / Grèce / 2017 / 5'34
Minecraft est un jeu vidéo à la première personne dans lequel le joueur parcours librement un vaste environnement en trois dimensions. Le joueur « mine » le paysage à la recherche de matériaux pour créer des structures. L'environnement du joueur se retrouve modifié par cette action. Le monde de Minecraft est dans sa majorité composé de blocs eux-mêmes faits de différents matériaux qui peuvent être utilisés par le joueur.
Minecraft Waste Land cherche à comparer et corréler une critique du jeu faite par le youtuber « Tai », une chronique radio de Michel Foucault sur le concept de l'hétérotopie ainsi qu'une page manuscrite provenant de Un enfant du pays par Richard Wright qui est accompagnée de corrections faites à la main par l'auteur.

Future Exit Strategy / Ben Skea / Angleterre / 2017 / 8'
Future Exit Strategy est une séquence vidéo épisodique utilisant des images en mouvements, des sons et des logiciels afin d'imaginer le futur de l'intelligence humaine. L'auteur se penche plus précisément sur la manière dont une civilisation de type III pourrait créer un modèle algorithmique capable de transférer des formes de vies intelligentes d'un univers à un autre. Un groupe de personnes marche le long d'un sentier de forêt, on s'aperçoit rapidement que leur voyage a pour but une série de « glyphes polymorphiques ». Leurs informations sensorielles sont alors converties à travers une série de changement de phases par le biais d'une sculpture virtuelle. Cette sculpture est un appareil futuriste qui permet d'envoyer les données qu'elle a enregistré dans un trou de ver microscopique. Future Exit Strategy est une manière de jouer avec notre vision du monde réel de façon optimiste et hypothétique, un monde dont nous ne pouvons pour l'instant pas échapper la réalité.