Saturday, March 17 | 3 PM
Espace municipal Georges-Conchon • Rue Léo-Lagrange

Free access


International Video Art Festival Now&After has been carried out in Moscow since 2011. Now&After focuses on presentation, development and promotion of both Russian and international video art, getting together emerging and established artists from around the world to present their works to the general audience. Traditionally the festival takes place at museum's space, where during a few weeks the festival program is being demonstrated as a multi-channel video installation.

Now&After was held at the Moscow Museum of Modern Art, at the State Museum of Gulag History and at the Schusev State Museum of Architecture, at the State Darwin Museum, at CCI Fabrika. The festival is organized by non-profit organization Media Art Centre Now&After and collaborates with cultural organizations in Russia and abroad presenting its collections nationally and internationally. Founding director/curator of International Video Art Festival Now&After is Marina Fomenko.

Marina Fomenko

Artist and curator based in Moscow, Russia.
Participated in numerous exhibitions and festivals nationally and internationally.

Founding director and curator of International Video Art Festival Now&After that annually held in Moscow since 2011. She curated special projects at 4th and 5th Moscow Biennale of Contemporary Art, 2nd Moscow Biennale of Young Art, Moscow Photobiennale, PhotoVisa Festival (Krasnodar), Osmosis Media Festival (Taipei, Taiwan). Marina was a curator of exhibitions at Moscow Museum of Modern Art, CCI Fabrika (Moscow), the State Museum of GULAG History (Moscow), Schusev State Museum of Architecture (Moscow), Victoria gallery (Samara), LOT gallery (Lexington, USA), etc.



“Power is everywhere; not because it embraces everything, but because it comes from everywhere”.
Michel Foucault.

Phantoms of power haunt us even when we try to ignore them. Energy of power which has not become creative tends to destruction. It seems we remember all of this: power of suppression and counter- force of protest, static energy of obedience and fraught with destructive potential rest energy.
Curated by Marina Fomenko.

Earth, Yael Toren, Israel, 2015, 2:52
An inverted virtual scene of a futuristic imagery, back to an ancient origin, embryonic and terminal at the same time, linked to the dust of creation and earth of burial. The sculptural-material body, blindly withdrawn into itself, breaks up and crumbles before our very eyes. The whole cycle of life is completed; seemingly, the snake really bites its own tail. The embryonic image that Toren created seems vulnerable, though of a stony texture, or the opposite way around: an image of a forgotten fossil having “natural” physical characteristics. A hyper-realistic scene, culminating in a shining explosion within the darkness.

Soft Power, Еlena Artemenko, Russia, 2016, 10:00
The video represents a ritual materializing the metaphor of "pulling the trigger with someone else's hands." The objects in the video (a gun, a flag and a hand) are made of silicon (a material, that by its tactile properties is similar to the human flesh). Mechanistic sounds of viola and cyclical action with clearly written score and the observance of hierarchies within the characters resemble the force parade (which is gradually falls apart), a little creepy, like a blank shot stuck in a throat, that suddenly sounds in our heads.

Lucha Libre, Julia Kurek, Poland, 7:49, 2015
Social and cultural space. In Mexico Lucha Libre fight are part of the cultural identity of the country. Fighting often is a grotesque, sometimes end up outside the ring. The impetus for the implementation of the performance Lucha Libre in front of the Presidential Palace was the analysis of the political situation in Mexico. September 26, 2014, 43 students who manifested against the reform of the education system were abducted. Performance, which I did in front of the Presidential Palace took place a day later. Two weeks after kidnapping students bodies were found burned in mass graves. My action was an expression of solidarity with the part of the society, which opposes the situation.

I Was Born in Your Bed, Daniel Pesta, Czech Republic,  2012-2013, 10:00
The entire concept is constructed on the simple principle of a school photograph. Two classes of small children, one of girls, one of boys, stand in typical neatly arranged rows, as we all know from our own school days snapshots. In their hands the children hold white/black transparent cloth satchels similar to those in which one carries indoor shoes for changing into. An adult strong voice can be heard, calling the name of one of the individual pupils. One by one the children pull the satchels they have ready in their hands over their heads. It is striking how the Roma children voluntarily subject themselves to these orders. This is how one child after another reacts, until they all have their heads covered. The transformation of an individual and a horde has been accomplished.

Dust, Michael Alekseenko, Ukraine,  2014, 7:00
Regime that destroys personality. Systematic monotonous routine work. The sound, reminding that of a sawmill. Self-forcing until complete vanishing. Turning human to dust. Every action made leaves a trace. When disappeared, the material object creates something bigger – the memory about it. The main aim of this work is to show that you cannot eliminate a person without a trace. Dust becomes ashes, a data medium, a memory.

The Stone Guest, Marina Fomenko, Russia, 2017, 8:20
The key figure of the October Revolution of 1917 in Russia was Lenin. After his death in 1924 Lenin’s image was immortalized in countless numbers of monuments in the Soviet Union and in the Soviet bloc’s countries. In her video, the artist refers to depicted in stone image of the Revolution leader based on archival materials and found footage. There is neither living nor dead Lenin in the film; only “the stone guest” become ingrained in Soviet people lives after his death. The "birth" of each new stone Lenin is accompanied by a special ritual with speeches and festivities before a vast assembly. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, the life cycle of the "stone guest" is coming to the end.

NOW & AFTER | FESTIVAL INTERNATIONAL D'ART VIDÉO
(RUSSIE)

Samedi 17 mars | 15h
Espace municipal Georges-Conchon • Rue Léo-Lagrange

Entrée libre

NOW&AFTER

Le festival international d’art vidéo Now & After est organisé à Moscou depuis 2011. Il se concentre sur la présentation, le développement et la promotion de l'art vidéo russe et international. Il réunit des artistes émergents et établis du monde entier dans l'espace du musée où le programme du festival est présenté comme une installation vidéo multicanal.

Now & After a eu lieu au Musée d'Art Moderne de Moscou, au Musée d'Etat de l'Histoire du Goulag, au Musée d'Etat de Schusev, au State Darwin Museum et à CCI Fabrika. Le festival est organisé par l'organisation Media Art Center Now & After et collabore avec des organisations culturelles en Russie et à l'étranger.www.now-after.org

Marina Fomenko

Marina Fomenko est une artiste et commissaire d'exposition basée à Moscou.

Directrice fondatrice du Festival International d'Art Vidéo Now & After qui se tient annuellement à Moscou depuis 2011, elle a organisé des projets pour les 4e et 5e Biennales d'Art Contemporain de Moscou, la 2e Biennale de Moscou, la Photobiennale de Moscou, le Festival PhotoVisa (Krasnodar) et l’Osmosis Media Festival (Taipei, Taiwan). Elle a aussi été conservatrice d'expositions au Musée d'Art Moderne de Moscou, au CCI Fabrika (Moscou), au musée d'Etat de l'Histoire du GULAG (Moscou), Musée d'Etat Schusev (Moscou), Galerie Victoria (Samara), Galerie LOT (Lexington, USA), etc.

LES FILMS

WHAT DO YOU THINK YOU REMEMBER?

« Le pouvoir est partout ; ce n’est pas qu’il englobe tout, c’est qu’il vient de partout ».
Michel Foucault.

À propos de la sélection vidéo proposée par Marina Fomenko (curatrice)  :
Les fantômes du pouvoir nous hantent même si nous essayons de les ignorer. L'énergie du pouvoir qui n'est pas devenue créatrice tend à la destruction. Il semble que nous nous souvenions de tout cela : le pouvoir de suppression et de contre-force de la protestation, l'énergie statique de l'obéissance et l'énergie du repos potentiellement destructrice.

Earth / Yael Toren / Israel / 2015 / 2'52
Une scène virtuelle inspirée d'une imagerie futuriste, un retour à une origine ancienne qui serait à la fois embryonnaire et terminale, liée à la poussière de la création et à la terre de l'enterrement. Le corps qui nous est présenté est sculptural et matériel, aveuglément retiré sur lui même, il se brise et s'écroule devant nos yeux. Le cycle de la vie est complété et semble bel est bien correspondre à la métaphore du serpent qui se mord la queue. Cette image embryonnaire créée par Toren semble vulnérable, malgré son apparence rocailleuse. Ou alors il s'agit au contraire de l'image d'un fossile oublié qui aurait une apparence humaine. La vidéo se termine avec une scène hyper-réaliste en une explosion brillant qui culmine à travers les ténèbres.

Soft Power / Еlena Artemenko / Russie / 2016 / 10'
Cette vidéo nous présente un rituel basé sur la métaphore «  appuyer sur la gâchette avec la main de quelqu'un d'autre ». Les objets utilisés dans la vidéo - un pistolet, un drapeau et une main - sont fait de silicone; un matériau qui, de par ses propriétés tactiles, est similaire à la chair humaine. Le résultat du mélange entre le son produit par un alto acoustique, l'action répétitive et réfléchie des personnages ainsi que la hiérarchisation de ces derniers donne l'impression d'assister à un terrifiant défilé de force qui s'écroule petit à petit, comme un coup à blanc coincé dans la gorge qui résonnerait soudainement dans la tête.

Lucha Libre / Julia Kurek / Pologne / 2015 / 7'49
L'espace social et culturel. Au Mexique les combats de Lucha Libre font partie de l'identité culturelle du pays. Les combats sont souvent grotesques et se terminent parfois en dehors du ring. C'est la situation politique au Mexique qui a donné l'impulsion nécessaire à la représentation de Lucha Libre qui se déroula en face du palais présidentiel. Le 26 septembre 2014, 43 étudiants qui avaient manifesté contre la réforme du système éducationnel au Mexique furent enlevés. La performance à laquelle Julia Kurek participa eu lieu en face du palais présidentiel un jour plus tard. Deux semaines après les enlèvements, des corps d'étudiants furent retrouvés brulés dans des charniers. Pour l'artiste, cette représentation de Lucha Libre était un moyen d'exprimer sa solidarité envers la frange de la société s'opposant à la situation.

I Was Born in Your Bed / Daniel Pesta / République Tchèque /  2012-2013 / 10'
Le concept tout entier est basé sur le simple principe de la photographie scolaire. On observe deux classes de jeunes enfants, une classe de filles et une de garçons, en rangs proprement et typiquement arrangés, comme nous avons pu les connaitre lors de nos propres journées de photographie scolaire. Les enfants tiennent dans leurs mains des sacs blancs et transparents en tissu, similaires à ceux que l'on utilise pour porter nos chaussures d'intérieur avant de les enfiler. La voix sourde d'un adulte se fait entendre, prononçant le nom des élèves individuellement. Un par un, les enfants mettent le cartable qu'ils tiennent dans leurs mains sur leurs têtes. Il est frappant de voir comment ces enfants roms se soumettent volontairement à ces ordres. C'est ainsi que réagissent ces élèves, l'un après l'autre, jusqu'à ce qu'ils aient tous la tête recouverte. Une fois ce processus terminé, ces enfants cessent d'exister en tant qu'individus pour se transformer en horde.

Dust / Michael Alekseenko / Ukraine / 2014 / 7'
Régime politique détruisant la personnalité. Routines de travail monotones et systématiques. Son semblable à celui d'une scierie. Auto-contrainte jusqu'à la disparition complète. Humains devenant poussière. Chaque actions effectuées laisse une trace. En disparaissant, l'objet matériel laisse derrière lui quelque chose d'encore plus important : des souvenirs. L'objectif de cette œuvre
est de montrer qu'il est impossible d'éliminer une personne sans laisser de trace. La poussière devient cendre : un support de données, une mémoire.

The Stone Guest / Marina Fomenko / Russie / 2017 / 8'20
La figure principale de la révolution d'Octobre 1917 en Russie était Lénine. Après sa mort en 1924, l'image de Lénine fut immortalisée dans d'innombrables documents de l'Union et du bloc soviétique. Dans sa vidéo réalisée à partir d'archives et de found footage, Marina Fomenko présente l'image du dirigeant de la révolution russe comme étant « gravée dans la roche ». Lénine n'est ni mort, ni vivant dans ce film; seul « l'invité de pierre » reste ancré dans la mémoire du peuple soviétique après sa mort. La « naissance » de chaque nouveau Lénine en pierre est accompagnée d'un rituel spécial, celui-ci est composé de discours et de festivités précédant un énorme regroupement. Cependant le cycle de vie de « l'invité de pierre » touche à sa fin avec l'effondrement de l'Union soviétique.