FOYER | ISMAÏL BAHRI
ESQUISSE |
ISMAÏL BAHRI
(FRANCE - TUNISIA)
March 15 > 31 | VIDEO INSTALLATIONS
SALLE GILBERT-GAILLARD | 2 rue Saint-Pierre
Opening: from Tuesday to Saturday 10AM > 6PM | Sunday 2PM > 6PM

Free access

Foyer

At first, Foyer seems to be a projection without film, where the only thing visible is a palpitating white screen. Voices accompany this white emptiness. They are spoken by people who approach the cameraman at work on the film, questioning him about what he is doing. In turn, an amateur photographer, a curious passerby, a policeman and a group of young men all approach the man filming.

As the situation develops, the discussions reveal to the spectators the principles of a film experience in progress, of the film they are actually watching. The film experience intrigues people, it interrogates and ultimately transforms the camera into a foyer (in the sense of a hearth), around which people gather, to speak, discuss and listen. At first centered on the camera, these conversations quickly reveal singular points of view, which trace the forms of a particular social and political landscape. They offer a glimpse of the context in which a tentative work experience is unfolding, searching for its way in the agitated world.

Title : Foyer
Length : 31 min.
Language : Tunisian arabic
Subtitles : French or English
Production : Spectre in coproduction with La Fabrique Phantom
Producer : Olivier Marboeuf
Associate producer : Cédric Walter
Year : 2016

Esquisse, pour E.Dekyndt

This five-minute sequence shot shows a flag that has the quality of being able to show and capture the landscape. Combining the screen and cinematographic projection, this flag becomes an instrument to see. Sensitive to the slightest variations of light, it becomes an indicator of atmospheric nuances.

 

This work was produced especially for the exhibition "Instruments" (13 to 24 September 2017) at the Jeu de Paume (Paris).
Ismaïl Bahri and Youssef Chebbi, Esquisse, pour E.Dekyndt, 2017, video HD 16/9, 5 min. Production Jeu de Paume.

Ismaïl Bahri

"Impermanence lies at the heart of the work of the Franco-Tunisian artist Ismaïl Bahri. Placing a sheet of wind-tossed paper in front of his camera lens, slowing down falling water drops by making them slide along a thread, observing the reflection of the city in a glass filled with ink held in his hand as he walks along: Ismaïl Bahri makes elementary and empirical gestures, and pays attention to “what is happening”, and what effect these operations will have on him. The artist positions himself as an observer; he gropes around, and talks of “shortsightedness” in relation to his work. He then sets up what he calls a “capture device” for these gestures, usually using video, but also photography and sound, without any specialization. It is quite often outside of the frame of the image that meaning emerges, in the perceptible presence of the surrounding world, which is suddenly revealed."

Text by François Piron.


Ismaïl Bahri’s work has been presented at La Criée (Rennes), Jeu de Paume (Paris), Les églises (Chelles), Staatliche Kunsthalle (Karlsruhe), Kunst Im Tunnel (Düsseldorf), the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation (Lisbon), among others. His films have been selected at international film festivals such as TIFF (Toronto), NYFF (New york), IFFR (Rotterdam), FID (Marseille). Ismaïl Bahri made an exhibition at the Jeu de Paume (Paris) in 2017.

http://www.ismailbahri.lautre.net/

Facebook
Twitter
INSTAGRAM

FOYER | ISMAÏL BAHRI
ESQUISSE |
ISMAÏL BAHRI
(FRANCE - TUNISIE)
15 > 31 mars | INSTALLATIONS VIDEO
SALLE GILBERT-GAILLARD | 2 rue Saint-Pierre
Ouverture : du mardi au samedi 10h > 18h | Le dimanche 14h > 18h

Entrée libre

Foyer

A première vue, Foyer semble être une projection sans film où seul est donné à voir un écran blanc palpitant. Des voix accompagnent ce blanc. Elles proviennent de personnes qui ont abordé le caméraman du film au travail pour le questionner sur ce qu’il fait. Le filmeur est tour à tour approché par un photographe amateur, un passant curieux, un policier ou un groupe de jeunes.

Au fur et à mesure de leurs développements, les discussions dévoilent au spectateur les principes d’une expérience filmique en cours et, par là-même, les principes du film qu’ils regardent. Cette expérience intrigue, interroge et transforme la caméra en un foyer (à l’image d’un feu) autour duquel se réunir, parler et écouter. S’intéressant d’abord à la caméra, ces paroles déploient vite des points de vue singuliers traçant les formes d’un certain paysage social et politique. Elles laissent entrevoir le contexte dans lequel se déploie l’expérience d’un travail qui tâtonne, à la recherche d’une voie dans le monde qui s’agite.

Titre : Foyer
Durée : 32 min.
Langue originale : Arabe tunisien
Sous-titres : français ou anglais
Production : Spectre en co-production avec La Fabrique Phantom
Producteur : Olivier Marboeuf
Producteur associé : Cédric Walter
Année : 2016

Esquisse, pour E.Dekyndt

Ce plan séquence de cinq minutes montre un drapeau qui a la propriété de montrer, de capter le paysage.
Convoquant l’écran et la projection cinématographique, ce drapeau devient un instrument pour voir. Sensible aux moindres variations de lumières, il devient un indicateur des nuances atmosphériques.

 

Œuvre produite spécialement pour l’exposition « Instruments » (13/06 au 24/09 2017) au Jeu de Paume (Paris).
Ismaïl Bahri et Youssef Chebbi, Esquisse, pour E.Dekyndt, 2017, vidéo HD 16/9, 5 min. Production du Jeu de Paume.

Ismaïl Bahri

"Placer une feuille de papier battue par le vent devant l’objectif de sa caméra, ralentir la chute de gouttes d’eau en les faisant glisser le long d’un fil, observer le reflet de la ville dans un verre rempli d’encre tenu à la main en marchant : Ismaïl Bahri effectue des gestes élémentaires, empiriques, et prête attention à «ce qui arrive», à ce que ces opérations lui font faire. L’artiste se positionne en observateur, il tâtonne, parle de «myopie» pour son travail. Il met ensuite en place ce qu’il nomme un «dispositif de captation» de ces gestes, utilisant le plus souvent la vidéo, mais aussi la photographie, le son, sans spécialisation. C’est bien souvent à la périphérie du regard qu’émerge du sens, dans la présence indicielle du monde environnant qui affleure, et révèle sa présence."

Texte de Francois Piron

Le travail d'Ismaïl Bahri a été montré dans divers lieux tels que La Criée Centre d'Art Contemporain (Rennes), Le Jeu de Paume (Paris), Les églises (Chelles), la Staatliche Kunsthalle (Karlsruhe), Kunst Im Tunnel (Düsseldorf), le British Film Institute (Londres), ou la Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation (Lisbonne). Ses films ont été sélectionnés dans des festivals tels que TIFF (Toronto), NYFF (New york), IFFR (Rotterdam), FID (Marseille) entre autres. Ismaïl Bahri prépare actuellement une exposition monographique qui aura lieu au Jeu de Paume en 2017.

http://www.ismailbahri.lautre.net/