PUMP | JOSEPH DAVID
(FRANCE)

March 15 > 31 | VIDEO INSTALLATION
SALLE GILBERT-GAILLARD | 2 rue Saint-Pierre
Opening: from Tuesday to Saturday 10AM > 6PM | Sunday 2PM > 6PM

Free access

PUMP

Two men, Joseph David and Andrew Kötting. Two pairs of arms devoted to one activity: PUMPING.

Perched at a height of eight meters above ground, the duo are actively engaged is propelling a strange contraption along a concrete viaduct. The remains of a test track for the Aerotrain, the monorail becomes the scene of a seven-day excursion during which both Sisyphii take up residence in a Mobile Accomodation Unit.

Why are they pumping ? We have no idea, and neither do they !

All we do know is that they expend great energy in doing so, as they proceed from one point to the next along a track 18 kilometers long. From the fields of the Beauce to the forest and the suburbs of Orleans, they consider the world below, with which they communicate at times, and the world above, within which they have isolated themselves.

Production : L'image d'après
Coproduction : Le Fresnoy studio national des arts contemporains
With the participation of Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée
With the support of La DRAC Centre, Ministère de la Culture, La Région Centre-Val de Loire, Ciclic, Région Centre, La fondation SMartbe
With Joseph David, Andrew Kötting et Albertine
A film by Joseph David

Joseph David

After a bend by the biology, the economy and the accounting, Joseph David gives up the garbage man's testing job, a psychologist's eminent career and a brilliant future in the hairstyle. He opts finally for an artistic career which he begins in the Fine arts of Cambrai and continues in Le Fresnoy, Studio national des arts contemporains in Tourcoing.

His work is at the crossroads of several disciplines involving video, film, installation, performance and new technologies where humor and absurdity are sometimes present. Its energy feeds on different artistic collaborations that are implied (Scientist, architect, director, sound creator…). It is the teamwork which they involve, which motivates him and inspires him.

He continues his course between Lille, Orléans and Brussels.

http://josephdavid.eu/fr/

Facebook
Twitter
INSTAGRAM

PUMP | JOSEPH DAVID
(FRANCE)

15 > 31 mars | INSTALLATION VIDÉO
SALLE GILBERT-GAILLARD | 2 rue Saint-Pierre
Ouverture : du mardi au samedi 10h > 18h | Le dimanche 14h > 18h

Entrée libre

PUMP

Deux hommes, Joseph David et Andrew Kötting. Deux paires de bras pour une action : POMPER.

Perché à huit mètres au dessus du sol, le duo s’active à mouvoir une étrange structure sur un viaduc de béton. Vestige de la voie d’essai de l’Aérotrain, le monorail est le théâtre d’un périple de sept jours durant lequel deux Sisyphe élisent domicile dans une Unité d’Habitation Mobile.

Pourquoi pompent-ils ? Nous n’en savons rien, eux non plus !

Tout ce que nous savons, c’est qu’ils s’évertuent à pomper, allant d’un point à l’autre du tronçon long de 18 km. Des champs de la Beauce jusqu’à la forêt et la banlieue d’Orléans, ils posent leur regard sur le monde d’en bas avec lequel ils communiquent parfois, et sur le monde d’en haut dans lequel ils se sont isolés.

Production : L'image d'après
Coproduction : Le Fresnoy studio national des arts contemporains
Participation du Centre national du cinéma et de l'image animée
Avec le soutien de La DRAC Centre, Ministère de la Culture, La Région Centre-Val de Loire, Ciclic, Région Centre, La fondation SMartbe
Avec Joseph David, Andrew Kötting et Albertine
Un film de Joseph David

Joseph David

Il opte pour une carrière artistique qu'il commence aux Beaux-Arts de Cambrai et poursuit au Fresnoy à Tourcoing.
Son travail se situe à la croisée de plusieurs disciplines entre vidéo, film, installation et performance où l’humour et l’absurde sont souvent de mise. Il privilégie les expériences qui lui permettent des collaborations artistiques variées (scientifique, architecte, metteur en scène, créateur sonore...). C’est le travail en équipe qu’elles impliquent, qui le motive et l’inspire.
Il continue son parcours entre Lille, Paris, Orléans et Bruxelles.

http://josephdavid.eu/fr/