Friday, March 16 | 6 PM
Salle Chavignier – Maison de la culture | Rue Abbé de l’Epée
Discussion broadcast live on the Kinic radio station

Digital Lounge
Free access | 10 AM > 10 PM

The viewpoint (life) of plants

The Scam Invites the philosopher Alain Petit (member of the Philosophy and Rationality research laboratory) to meet the artistic duo Scenocosme (Grégory Lasserre and Anaïs Met Den Ancxt), visual artists featured at the 2018 VIDEOFORMES festival.

The Scam Invites is a format prepared and presented by Gilles Coudert & Jean-Jacques Gay, authors-directors and curators of the Commission of Écritures et Formes Émergentes (Writing and Emerging Forms) of La Scam - Société Civile des Auteurs Multimédias - partner of VIDEOFORMES 2018.

By distilling digital technology through organic elements, Scenocosme crosses humans and plants, the natural and artificial in all that they have that is living, sensitive, even fragile. This artistic duo thus develops a notion of interactivity, through which a work exists and evolves thanks to the corporal and social relations with their spectators. Grégory Lasserre and Anaïs Met Den Ancx then initiate amazing hybridizations between the elements of the living (plants, humans, water, wood, stones...) and digital technologies through a haptic, sensory, and bodily language. And if most of their works imagine various invisible relationships between the body and environment, they observe the minute energy variations of living beings by proposing various interactive settings where the viewer shares processoral sensory experiences while facing a development system for a phenomenology of the living. For his part, the philosopher Alain Petit is also interested in plants but through a reflection on the history of civilizations and language. A specialist in comparative ancient philosophy, his knowledge of Eastern and Western societies makes this academic, a member of the Philosophy and Rationality Research Laboratory of Clermont-Ferrand, the privileged interlocutor for the Scenocosme experiments. For Alain Petit looks at the plant not only as a model but as a language, an ideal system in the footsteps of Foucault and Agamben. Alain Petit's reflections on languages go back to the roots of civilizations, with Indian Buddhism and Sanskrit, and resonate with the post-post digital essays of Scenocosme. Artists who question both our individual relationship to the universal and what we humans do with the world. In the tradition of observant artists, they alert us with the technologies of their time about an announced super-nature.

When the philosopher, a social actor who is constantly observing, meets the artist, a visionary lookout, a discussion of the possibilities can take place and pathways appear to reconsider our relationship with others and with the world of plants through an urgent negentropy[1].

[1] Negentropy, or negative entropy, has been developed among other things by the philosopher Bernard Steigler: it is a factor of organization of physical systems, and possibly social and human systems, which is opposed to the natural tendency to disorganization -entropy-.

The Scam Invites Alain Petit, Grégory Lasserre and Anaïs Met Den Ancxt to develop in this confrontation the philosophy of plant intelligence, to imagine new relationships to maintain (or not) with our natural, social, and artistic environment.

Alain Petit

Philosopher Alain Petit is a professor in the Department of Philosophy at Université Clermont Auvergne (UCA) and belongs to the Phier research laboratory. He directs, with Charlotte Morel, a cycle of studies on vitalism and is interested in plant philosophy.


The artistic duo Scenocosme brings together Grégory Lasserre and Anaïs met den Ancxt whose creations take shape through various expressions: interactive installations, visual art, digital art, sound art, collective performances, etc...

La Scam Invite

The Scam Invites is a format of events, in partnership with festivals supported by La Scam, which proposes sharing creative and contemporary points of view, initiating unexpected dialogue between two authors working in fields at first glance distant from each other, personalities who would not necessarily meet who are brought together for a moment of discussion.

LA SCAM INVITE #4
DIGITAL LOUNGE

Vendredi 16 mars | 18h
Salle Chavignier – Maison de la culture | Rue Abbé de l’Epée
Rencontre diffusée en direct sur Variance FM

Digital Lounge
En accès libre | 10h > 22h

L’avis (la vie) des plantes

La Scam Invite le philosophe Alain Petit (membre du laboratoire de Philosophie et de Rationalité) à rencontrer le duo d’artistes Scenocosme (Grégory Lasserre et Anaïs Met Den Ancxt), plasticiens à l’honneur du festival VIDEOFORMES 2018.

La Scam Invite est un format préparé et animé par Gilles Coudert & Jean-Jacques Gay, auteurs-réalisateurs et commissaires de la commission des Écritures et Formes Émergentes de La Scam - Société Civile des Auteurs Multimédias - partenaire de VIDEOFORMES 2018.

En distillant la technologie numérique à travers des pièces organiques, Scenocosme croise l’humain et les plantes, le naturel et l’artificiel dans tout ce qu’ils ont de vivant, de sensible, voire de fragile. Ce duo d’artistes développe ainsi une notion d’interactivité, par laquelle une œuvre existe et évolue grâce aux relations corporelles et sociales avec leurs spectateurs. Grégory Lasserre et Anaïs Met Den Ancx initient alors d'étonnantes hybridations entre les éléments du vivants (végétaux, humains, eau, bois, pierres...) et les technologies numériques à travers un langage haptique, sensoriel et corporel. Et si la plupart de leurs œuvres imagine diverses relations invisibles entre corps et environnement, celles-ci observent les variations énergétiques infimes des êtres-vivants en proposant diverses mises en scène interactives où le spectateur partage des expériences sensorielles processorales face à un dispositif de développement d’une phénoménologie du vivant. De son côté, le philosophe Alain Petit s’intéresse lui aussi aux plantes mais à travers une réflexion sur l’histoire des civilisations et du langage. Spécialiste de philosophie antique comparée, ses connaissances sur les sociétés orientales et occidentales font de cet universitaire, membre du Laboratoire de Philosophie et de Rationalité de Clermont-Ferrand, l’interlocuteur privilégié des expériences de Scenocosme. Car Alain Petit regarde la plante non seulement comme un modèle mais comme un langage, dispositif idéal sur les traces de Foucault et Agamben. Les réflexions d’Alain Petit sur les langages remontent ainsi aux racines des civilisations, avec le bouddhisme Indien et le Sanscrit, et entrent en résonance avec les essais post-post numériques de Scenocosme. Artistes qui questionnent à la fois notre rapport individuel à l'universel et ce que nous, humains, faisons du monde. Dans la tradition des artistes veilleurs, ils nous alertent avec les technologies de leur temps sur une sur-nature annoncée.

Lorsque le philosophe, acteur social en permanente recherche, rencontre l’artiste, vigie visionnaire, une discussion des possibles peut s’engager et des voies apparaissent pour reconsidérer notre rapport à l'autre et au monde des plantes à travers une néguanthropie[1] urgente.

La Scam Invite Alain Petit, Grégory Lasserre et Anaïs Met Den Ancxt à développer dans cette confrontation la philosophie d’une intelligence du végétal, à imaginer de nouvelles relations à entretenir (ou pas) avec notre environnement naturel, social et artistique.

[1] La guentropie ou entropie négative, est développée entre autre par le philosophe Bernard Steigler: c’est un facteur d'organisation des systèmes physiques, et éventuellement sociaux et humains, qui s'oppose à la tendance naturelle à la désorganisation -l’entropie-.

Alain Petit

Le Philosophe Alain Petit enseigne au département de la Philosophie de l'Université Clermont Auvergne (UCA) et appartient au laboratoire Phier. Il dirige, avec Charlotte Morel, un cycle d'études sur le vitalisme et s'intéresse à la philosophie du végétal.

Scenocosme

Le duo d'artistes Scenocosme réunit Grégory Lasserre et Anaïs met den Ancxt dont les créations prennent forme à travers diverses expressions : installations interactives, art plastique, art numérique, art sonore, performances collectives, etc…
festival2018.videoformes.com/scenocosme

La Scam Invite

La Scam Invite est un format de rencontres, en partenariat avec les festivals soutenus par La Scam, qui propose des partages de points de vue créatifs et contemporains, initiant un dialogue inattendu entre deux auteurs œuvrant dans des champs a priori éloignés, personnalités qui ne se croiseraient pas forcément et réunies l’espace d’une discussion.