Opening: from tuesday to saturday 10 AM > 6 PM | Sunday : 2 PM > 6 PM

Free access

Nothing from the future

Creation in residence at VIDEOFORMES. Co-production Phyllis Baldino / VIDEOFORMES, with the support of Clermont Auvergne Métropole as part of its creation policy, and Drac Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes / 2018.

Nothing from the Future was inspired by the idea that there will always be predictions about the future, but it is in the everyday where nothing happens on a regular basis. Sure, there are certain days that are more extraordinary than others, but on the whole, one day resembles the next. What constitutes this “nothing” is what I am after: creating every-day actions set in an undetermined time in the future. “You won’t believe what happened to me today! You just won’t believe it! Absolutely nothing!”1

Over three years in the making, Nothing from the Future is similar to other works I have developed that involve a process that evolves over time, requiring extensive research. I do all of my own pre-production with set-up shots created with props and personas, production, and post-production, audio and video recording, and editing.

Nothing from the Future is a nine-channel synchronized wireless video installation with Bluetooth speakers. I’ve always dreamt of making a video installation that is completely wireless. Working with the Apple Business Team helped this all come together. All of the components are self-contained: no internet is needed. The footage is on iPads, installed floating in a 14-foot circle, with the moving images parallel but not facing each other. The small round Bluetooth speakers also float from the ceiling, one per channel. There are 60 segments total, 35 short clips, and 25 silent moving abstractions. This silent footage was shot in real time, without added animation in post-production. It offers an alternate version of the future. One clip with audio plays at a time while the other eight channels play the silent abstractions. The channels are randomly synchronized, but appear like they are not synchronized.

The shoots range from domestic and occupational settings, to observations; it is as if these personas and actions were a regular occurrence. Sound has emerged as a major component of the work. Audio, in its various forms, only becomes more prevalent in our lives. From beeps to pings, bells, whooshes, songs, voices: it is endless. I combine the initial location sound recordings with additional audio from a variety of sources.

The viewer may or may not see a clip depending on where they are in the space. They may hear the audio in the distance but not be near the footage associated with that audio. Unpredictable and unsettling, the experience will make the viewer feel fragmented in a manner not dissimilar to the bombardment of information we receive from our technological devices on a daily basis. They are left to imagine how this phenomenon may accelerate in the future.

For my concept of a futuristic landscape, I chose to shoot in the Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah. It is a surreal version of what lies ahead. I wondered what it would be like to live there in the future. What would happen?

1 Krauss, Lawrence M., A Universe From Nothing, 2012, p. 121 (quoting Richard Feynman)

Nine-channel wireless synced installation
27 minutes 23 seconds 28 frames per channel

Special thanks: Paul Pacun,, the makers of Signage.

Subtitles in french:
VIDEOFORMES, with Laura Bertrand, Issam Bendehina, Kelly Cornu, Raphael Goutte , Farida Kaddour, Edouard Seve, Master Traduction Audio-visuelle Daniel Rodrigues & Gabriel Soucheyre, LCC, Clermont Auvergne University


Opening: from tuesday to saturday 11 AM > 7 PM | Sunday 2 PM > 6PM

Free access

Now is here

In the fall of 2016, I read Time Reborn by the theoretical physicist Lee Smolin. Lee is in my piece about symmetry symmetry about (2002). We have stayed in touch over the years and he recommended that I read this particular book of his. The idea of time has always fascinated me. Some of my previous work deals directly with concepts about time. In the introduction to Time Reborn, Lee states, “Every journey has a lesson to teach, and mine has been to realize just how radical an idea is contained in the simple statement that time is real. Having begun my life in science searching for the equation beyond time, I now believe that the deepest secret of the universe is that its essence rests in how it unfolds moment to moment in time.”1

After reading Smolin’s book, I decided to make a video about the idea of ‘now’. As timing would have it, the American presidential election in November resulted in a reality television star entering the White House. I consciously did not include the name, voice, or likeness of our new President. Although he is not literally represented, he exists in other manifestations. As it turns out, my first pre-planned trip to Cuba was in January. Both the United States and Cuba are going through an unprecedented moment in history. All of these factors came into play when creating “Now is Here.”

I started production in January by filming the hands of others as they spoke about their definition of ‘now.’ Shooting hands was a way of making people less self-conscious. I wanted this process to be easy for them and abstract for me. There was one rule: no proper nouns. It was important to simply record their thoughts without including particular names of people or things. The twenty-five individuals I chose were from various occupations. Their definitions of ‘now’ range from personal to philosophical to political.

The Cubans were amazingly open to participate even though we had just met. Eloisa Hernández Janeiro was a simultaneous interpreter for Fidel Castro, and also for Presidents Obama and Carter when they visited Cuba. Eloisa is naturally insightful. Elías Aseff Alfonso, an Afro-Cuban guide in Havana, is uniquely genuine, open, and direct. Other participants include René Gonzalez: a Cuban Historical Guide, Alexander Gonzalez (René’s younger brother), Reinier Menendez (Guide/Programmer at the Martin Luther King Center in Havana), Solveig Font (fine art curator), Julio Llópiz-Casal (visual artist), and Hanser Ponce Blanco (my Airbnb host).

The people I filmed back home in New York ranged from fellow visual artists (Mark Harris, Nate Heiges, Pam Lins, Robin Lowe, Halsey Rodman, Kathleen Ruiz, Amy Sillman, Katie Vida), to the doorman of a small condominium building in Greenwich Village (Keion Bryant), to a young aspiring flutist (Jonah Murphy). The political landscape here in the U.S. was rapidly changing on a daily if not hourly basis. It was—and is—non-stop. During production I was constantly filming my television with my iPhone, to acquire footage of these events. It was not about the quality of this documentation but about the content and commentary associated with it. Interspersed with the hand-held footage are various forms of current event activity, altered as needed. The former Press Secretary Sean Spicer is featured in various iterations. Instead of using his false statements about the crowd size at the 2017 Presidential Inauguration, I included the Obama swearing in clip from my piece Finally (2009), showing the mass exuberance on the National Mall.

The Bowling Green Massacre was a fake news story fabricated by Kellyanne Conway, Counselor to the President. Coincidentally there is a Bowling Green Park in lower Manhattan. It is the oldest park in New York City. When I arrived there to film, I discovered the perfect surprise: New Yorkers had created a memorial with real flowers and cards around the historical plaque of the park. It was the ultimate scene for my shoot there. The story was not true but New Yorkers understand all too well the reality we are living in.

1 Smolin, Lee, “Time Reborn,” 2013.

Single-channel installation
18:58 minutes

French subtitles:
VIDEOFORMES with contribution by Roxane DELAGE
& Master Média et Médiation Culturelle, Leisha LECOINTRE, Daniel RODRIGUES Pauline AZEVEDO Sacha LIMOUZIN, Amelie ROLLAND under the direction of​ Gabriel SOUCHEYRE UFR LCC / Clermont Auvergne University​

Phyllis Baldino

Phyllis Baldino is an american artist, in residence at VIDEOFORMES 2017/2018 (with the support of Clermont Auvergne Métropole and Drac Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes).

One of my fondest memories as an art student is sitting alone in a small library booth with just a turntable and large headphones listening to John Cage and David Tudor’s sound collaboration piece Indeterminacy (1959). Their composition was so many things, yet so simple—funny, smart, quirky, beautiful, surprising, engaging, random, straight forward and more—it changed my idea of art forever. Cage set up rules for the work: he had to speak each story within one minute, Tudor was in another room unaware of when Cage spoke or what he was saying. Although not planned and totally random, the result is astonishingly perfect. Taking this lead, I sometimes create simple rules for my pieces where I allow chance to play a role.

I have been working primarily with the moving image since 1993. At the time, I received a BFA in sculpture, my work was very process-orientated. When I was living in Los Angeles in the early 1990s, as fate would have it, I was given a Sony Handycam 8mm video camera as a gift. As soon as I starting filming, that was it: the device was like an extension of my hand. Now that my hand was the camera, shooting the process became the piece. I began to make videos that dealt with the function, physicality, and transformation of every day objects.

The work is conceptually-based and often sparked by scientific information or philosophical ideas. Some examples include the Gray Area Series (1993-1994), a response to Fuzzy Logic1, something being “what it is” and “what it is not” simultaneously; the Unknown Series (excerpts) (1994-1996), unknown objects altered by unknown personas; Nano-cadabra (1998), manual abstractions sprouting from nanotechnology; Baldino-Neutrino (2003), the neutrino experiments from CERN to Gran Sasso Lab in Italy; Out of Focus Everything Series (2006-2010), multi-dimensional moving images about the Theory of Everything; TraitFee (2012), personal information appears on your body if you do not pay your TraitFee.

1 McNeill, Daniel and Freiberger, Paul, Fuzzy Logic: The Discovery of a Revolutionary Computer Technology – and How it is Changing the World, 1993

NOTHING FROM THE FUTURE | PHYLLIS BALDINO
(ETATS-UNIS)

15 > 31 mars | CREATION EN RESIDENCE VIDEOFORMES
SALLE GILBERT-GAILLARD | 2 rue Saint-Pierre
Ouverture : du mardi au samedi 10h > 18h | Le dimanche 14h > 18h

Entrée libre

Nothing from the future

Création en résidence VIDEOFORMES.
Co-production Phyllis Baldino / VIDEOFORMES,
avec le concours de Clermont Auvergne Métropole dans le cadre de sa politique de création, et le soutien de la Drac Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes / 2018.

Nothing from the Future part du principe qu’il y aura toujours des prédictions sur l’avenir, mais se concentre sur le quotidien dans lequel il ne se passe, en général, rien. Bien entendu, il y a des journées qui sont plus extraordinaires que d’autres, mais globalement, les jours se suivent et se ressemblent. Ce que je recherche, c’est ce qui constitue ce « rien » : des actions qui auront lieu dans le futur, à un moment indéterminé. « Tu ne devineras jamais ce qui m’est arrivé aujourd’hui ! Tu ne vas pas me croire ! Absolument rien ! »

Projet réalisé sur plus de trois ans, Nothing from the Future s’inscrit dans la continuité de mes œuvres construites autour d’un processus qui évolue dans le temps et exige un gros travail de recherche. Je réalise moi-même toute la pré-production, je me charge des prises de vue avec accessoires et personnages, de la production, de la postproduction, de l’enregistrement audio et vidéo, et du montage.

Nothing from the Future est une installation vidéo synchronisée à neuf écrans utilisant des enceintes Bluetooth. J’ai toujours rêvé de faire une installation vidéo entièrement sans fil. Ma collaboration avec l’équipe d’Apple m’a permis de mettre cela en place. Tous les composants sont indépendants, aucune connexion Internet n’est requise. Les films passent sur des iPads fixés en l’air parallèlement les uns aux autres en un grand cercle de plus de quatre mètres, les images tournées vers l’extérieur. De petites enceintes Bluetooth rondes sont également suspendues au plafond, une pour chaque écran. Il y a un total de 60 segments, 35 clips courts et 25 films muets abstraits. Ces images ont été tournées en temps réel, sans animation ajoutée ni postproduction. Elles montrent une autre vision de l’avenir. Un écran propose un clip sonore tandis que les extraits muets sont joués sur les huit autres écrans. Les écrans sont synchronisés de façon aléatoire, mais ils donnent l’impression de ne pas être synchronisés du tout.

Les scènes montrent des environnements privés ou professionnels ou des observations, comme si les personnages et les actions étaient une routine. Le son s’est avéré une composante cruciale de cet ensemble. Les bruits dans toutes leurs formes sont de plus en plus présents dans notre vie : bips, tintements, sons de cloche, vrombissements, chansons, voix... Ils sont permanents. Je mélange le son enregistré sur le terrain avec des sons additionnels de diverses origines.

Selon où il se trouve dans l’espace de l’installation, le spectateur pourra ou non regarder un clip. Il se peut qu’il entende du son au loin mais ne voie pas la source vidéo associée. Imprévisible et déconcertante, cette expérience déroute le spectateur un peu à la manière de la surenchère d’informations dont nous mitraillent nos outils technologiques au quotidien. Le public est amené à imaginer dans quelle proportion ce phénomène risque de s’amplifier à l’avenir.

Pour concevoir cet environnement du futur, j’ai filmé à Bonneville Salt Flats, le désert de sel de l’Utah. C’est une version surréaliste de ce qui nous attend. J’ai imaginé une vie future dans un tel environnement. Que se passerait-il ?

Installation synchronisée sans fil à neuf écrans, 2013-2016
Couleur/son
27 minutes et 23 secondes
28 vues par écran

Remerciements : Paul Pacun, vablet.com, the makers of Signage.

Sous-titrage en français :
VIDEOFORMES, avec Laura Bertrand, Issam Bendehina, Kelly Cornu, Raphael Goutte , Farida Kaddour, Edouard Seve, Master Traduction Audio-visuelle Daniel Rodrigues & Gabriel Soucheyre, LCC, Université Clermont Auvergne

NOW IS HERE | PHYLLIS BALDINO
(ETATS-UNIS)

15 > 31 mars | INSTALLATION VIDEO
CHAPELLE DE L’HÔPITAL GENERAL | Rue Sainte-Rose
Ouverture : du mardi au samedi 11h > 19h | Le dimanche 14h > 18h

Entrée libre

Now is here

À l’automne 2016, j’ai lu La renaissance du Temps, du théoricien de la physique Lee Smolin. Lee a participé à mon œuvre about symmetry symmetry about (2002). Nous sommes restés en contact au fil des années et il m’a conseillé de lire son livre. L’idée du temps m’a toujours fascinée. Certaines de mes réalisations portent sur des concepts liés à la notion de temps. Dans l’introduction de La renaissance du Temps, Lee écrit : « Chaque voyage comporte une leçon, en ce qui me concerne, cela a été de réaliser à quel point une idée radicale peut être contenue dans le simple énoncé que le temps est réel. Ayant commencé ma vie scientifique en quête de l’équation au-delà du temps, je crois maintenant que le secret le plus profond de l’univers est que son essence tient dans la façon dont il se déploie dans le temps, d’instant en instant. »[1]

Après la lecture de ce livre, j’ai décidé de réaliser une vidéo sur l’idée du « maintenant ». Ironie du timing, l’élection présidentielle américaine du mois de novembre a débouché sur l’arrivée à la Maison-Blanche d’une star de la télé réalité. J’ai choisi de ne pas mentionner le nom de notre nouveau président, ni sa voix ou son apparence. Bien qu’il ne soit pas représenté au sens propre, il est présent sous d’autres formes. Il s’est trouvé que mon premier déplacement prévu en janvier était à Cuba. Les États-Unis et Cuba traversent un moment inédit de leur histoire. Tous ces facteurs sont entrés en jeu dans la naissance de Now is Here.

J’ai entamé le tournage en janvier en filmant les mains des gens pendant qu’ils me confiaient leur définition du mot « maintenant ». Filmer leurs mains était un moyen de leur permettre d’oublier un peu la caméra. Je voulais leur rendre la tâche plus facile et tout en rendant la mienne plus abstraite. J’avais fixé une seule règle : pas de noms propres. J’avais à cœur de n’enregistrer que leurs pensées, et pas de dénominations de personnes ou de choses. Les vingt-cinq personnes que j’ai choisies avaient tous des métiers différents. Leurs définitions de « maintenant » vont du personnel au politique en passant par le philosophique.

Les Cubains ont montré un incroyable enthousiasme dans leur participation, bien que je ne les aie jamais rencontrés avant. Eloisa Hernández Janeiro a été interprète en simultané pour Fidel Castro et pour les présidents Obama et Carter lors de leurs visites à Cuba. Eloisa est une personne naturellement avisée. Elías Aseff Alfonso, guide afro-cubain à la Havane, est un homme exceptionnellement franc, direct et ouvert. Parmi les autres participants, il y a René Gonzalez, guide spécialisé dans l’histoire de Cuba, Alexander Gonzalez (le jeune frère de René), Reinier Menendez (guide et programmateur au centre Martin Luther King de la Havane), Solveig Font (conservatrice d’art), Julio Llópiz-Casal (artiste visuel), et Hanser Ponce Blanco (mon hôte Airbnb).

Parmi les gens que j’ai filmés chez moi à New York, on trouve des collègues en arts visuels (Mark Harris, Nate Heiges, Pam Lins, Robin Lowe, Halsey Rodman, Kathleen Ruiz, Amy Sillman, Katie Vida), le concierge d’un petit immeuble résidentiel de Greenwich Village (Keion Bryant), un jeune flûtiste (Jonah Murphy). Le paysage politique était en plein bouleversement aux États-Unis, tout changeait d’heure en heure. C’était non-stop. Pendant la réalisation du projet, je filmais constamment la télévision avec mon iPhone pour conserver des images de ces événements. Il ne s’agissait pas de réaliser des images de qualité, mais de capter les contenus et les commentaires. Entre les séquences filmées sur le vif, on assiste à l’actualité sous diverses formes, remaniée si besoin. L’ancien directeur de la communication de la Maison-Blanche, Sean Spicer, fait plusieurs apparitions. Plutôt que de montrer ses mensonges sur le nombre de personnes présentes à l’investiture présidentielle de 2017, j’ai préféré inclure un extrait de mon film Finally (2009) montrant la prestation de serment d’Obama sur l’Esplanade Nationale devant une foule en délire.

Le massacre de Bowling Green était une fausse nouvelle inventée par Kellyanne Conway, conseillère du président. Or, il existe un parc appelé Bowling Green au sud de Manhattan. C’est le parc le plus ancien de New York. Quand j’y suis allée pour filmer, j’ai eu la plus belle des surprises : les New-Yorkais avaient déposé des fleurs et des cartes près de la plaque du parc. C’est la scène finale de mon passage dans ce lieu. Le fait divers était fictif, mais les New Yorkais ne connaissent que trop bien la réalité dans laquelle nous vivons.

[1] Smolin, Lee, La renaissance du Temps, 2013

Installation à un écran
18 minutes 58
couleur/son
2017

Sous-titrage en français : VIDEOFORMES, avec Sacha Limouzin, Pauline Azevedo, Amélie Rolland, Master Traduction Audio-visuelle Daniel Rodrigues, Leisha Lecointre & Gabriel Soucheyre, LCC, Université Clermont Auvergne, et Roxane Delage.

Phyllis Baldino

Phyllis Baldino est une artiste américaine, résidente à VIDEOFORMES en 2017/2018 (avec le soutien de Clermont Auvergne Métropole et de la DRAC Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes).

Un de mes meilleurs souvenirs de mes années d’études aux Beaux-Arts, c’est quand j’allais à la bibliothèque m’asseoir dans une petite cabine munie d’une platine vinyle et d’un énorme casque pour écouter Indeterminacy, collaboration sonore de John Cage et David Tudor (1959). Cette composition était à la fois si riche et si simple – drôle, intelligente, décalée, superbe, étonnante, captivante, déjantée, sincère et j’en passe – qu’elle a définitivement changé ma vision de l’art. John Cage avait fixé des règles pour cette œuvre : il avait une minute pour raconter une histoire, et David Tudor, dans la pièce voisine, ne savait ni quand il parlait ni ce qu’il disait. Bien que tout soit basé sur le hasard, le résultat est d’une perfection hallucinante. C’est dans cet esprit que je me donne parfois des règles simples pour mes œuvres qui laissent de la place au hasard.

Depuis 1993, je me consacre en priorité à la vidéo. À cette époque, je venais de décrocher mon diplôme en sculpture et mon travail était très axé sur le cheminement. Au début des années quatre-vingt-dix, quand j’habitais à Los Angeles, on m’a offert une caméra Sony Handycam 8mm. Dès que j’ai commencé à filmer, ce fut une révélation : l’appareil était un prolongement de ma main. Et comme ma main était devenue la caméra, filmer le processus de création est devenu l’œuvre à part entière. J’ai commencé à réaliser des vidéos sur la fonction, la réalité physique et la transformation des objets de tous les jours.

L’œuvre est conceptuelle et souvent initiée par une information scientifique ou des idées philosophiques. Quelques exemples de ce type d’œuvres :
Gray Area Series (1993-1994) : en réponse à la « logique floue »,[1] sur une chose qui est à la fois « ce qu’elle est » et « ce qu’elle n’est pas ».
Unknown Series (extraits) (1994-1996) : des objets inconnus transformés par des personnages inconnus.
None-cadabra (1998) : abstractions manuelles issues de la nanotechnologie.
Baldino-Neutrino (2003) : sur le projet Neutrinos du CERN vers le Gran Sasso en Italie.
Out of Focus Everything Series (2006-2010) : images filmées pluridimensionnelles sur la Théorie du Tout.
TraitFee (2012) : vos données personnelles apparaîtront sur votre corps si vous ne payez pas votre cotisation.

[1] McNeill, Daniel et Freiberger, Paul, Fuzzy Logic: The Discovery of a Revolutionary Computer Technology – and How it is Changing the World, 1993

phyllisbaldino.com